Pearl Jam have announced their new album Dark Matter, hear the first single

Pearl Jam have announced the release of their new album. Dark Matter, the first single, is now available on all streaming platforms.

Photo: Danny Clinch

Pearl Jam’s twelfth studio album, Dark Matter, will be released on Monkeywrench Records/Republic Records on April 19, 2024.

The album is anticipated by the release of the title track, now available on all streaming platforms.

After the first sessions at Andrew Watt’s personal studio in Beverly Hills, the album was largely recorded at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La recording studio in Malibu last year. Dark Matter was born in just three weeks. As a result, the album “channels the shared spirit of a group of lifelong creative confidants and brothers in one room playing as if their very lives depended on it”.

Dark Matter pre-orders are now available and include several vinyl variants. HD Audio and Dolby Atmos mixes will be available on a deluxe CD/Blu-ray. Pearl Jam is also celebrating indie record stores with the release of a special edition of Dark Matter on April 20.

Here’s a list of all current available formats of Pearl Jam’s new album:

  • Ten Club exclusive red vinyl with 24-page booklet (only at
  • Crystal vinyl with 24-page booklet
  • Standard vinyl with 24-page booklet
  • Standard CD
  • Deluxe CD/Blu-ray with HD Audio and Dolby Atmos immersive mix


All vinyl packages will include one of three unique sticker sheets with 5 center label stickers and a logo sticker.

The album’s packaging features light painting art by Alexandr Gnezdilov. The album cover art was crafted using a large self-made kaleidoscope. Each letter visible on the cover was individually captured and handwritten midair with a specially designed flashlight to create the pearlescent effect.

Dark Matter is also available as a seven-inch vinyl single backed with an instrumental version on the b-side. The song was written by all five members of Pearl Jam along with their producer Andrew Watt.

It is also available as a digital single on 

Here’s the official tracklist of the album and the visual video of Dark Matter.


1. Scared of Fear
2. React, Respond
3. Wreckage
4. Dark Matter
5. Won’t Tell
6. Upper Hand
7. Waiting for Stevie
8. Running
9. Something Special
10. Got To Give
11. Setting Sun